Distraction

For a while I didn’t understand what this season was supposed to be for. Was I going to get connected in the Salsa world? Was I going to be “discovered” and end up a huge movie star? Was I going to get connected with a ministry? Where was my life gonna go? I didn’t know… all I knew was that something BIG was going to happen, and I was right. God opened my eyes to at least a part of the reason he led me here- this is the desert. He has led me away into the desert so that I may grow closer to, depend on, and lean on Him. He desires all of me and all of my worship, but I wasn’t giving that to Him. I was leaning on other things to get me through the day, I was depending on school as a back up instead of making Him my back up. What it comes down to is that I wasn’t making Him the Lord of my life, worshiping Him with all my heart, or loving Him with all of my being. I spend more time alone during the day here and He has used that time to sit me down in a quiet place and speak to me.

It’s funny when life gets busy how it’s so easy to forget about our Creator, our Lover. How silly of us to walk away from the very reason we exist. We are here on earth solely because He loves us and wants all of us to be intertwined with all of Him. Having nothing to do all day for several days in a row allows Abba to grab my attention and pour His love all over me once again. I may not have been led here for any other reason other than to draw closer to my Papa and that’s 100% okay with me.

Please pray that as God leads me through this life, that I always listen to Him, and obey what He says to me. It’s so easy to take things into my hands but I’d rather struggle heading towards life through the narrow gate with the Lord holding my hand than go through the wide gate alone, ending  up alone.

About NMStock

I am a child of the Creator of this stunning, intricate universe
This entry was posted in Distraction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Distraction

  1. Mom says:

    I don’t even know what to say except reading this post was absolutely amazing, moving, impactful, and timely. I have been struggling and beating myself up for a lack of focus, persistence, and inconsistency in my life mainly in the areas of good health and nutrition, exercise, and following through on other goals that I set for myself. Your post touched me and inspired me to realize that what I can count on is God and that by spending more time with God and leaving this all up to him, he will sort it all out for me in his time and in his way. Thank you Nicole. I love you so much.

  2. dibart89 says:

    I’m glad that you got something out of it : )… just don’t beat yourself up, that’s condemnation. Romans says that condemnation is of the law and we’re no longer under the law. So let yourself feel convicted, but any condemning thoughts need to be wiped out in the name of Jesus Christ. I love youuu!!!

Leave a Reply

