He led them by a straight way…

to a city where they could settle… he brought them out of darkness and the deepest gloom and broke away their chains… he brought them out of their distress… he guided them to their desired haven… there he brought the hungry to live… he lifted the needy out of their affliction… whoever is wise, let him heed these things and consider the great love of the LORD. Psalm 107

This Psalm is covered with verse that talk about the Lord guiding and directing His people. He sees a need, the people trust and allow Him to take their hand and guide them to “greener pastures,” and He takes them there. My favorite verse is 30- They were glad when it grew calm, and he guided them to their desired haven. The only problem is what if they didn’t know what they desired? Where is their desired haven? Where is my desired haven?

So many people cope with this life by closing their hearts to desire. It’s safer and it hurts less, however what they don’t realize is they are making themselves numb to the very meaning of their existence. God created us with desire to draw us to Him which He then uses to guide us in the life in the direction He wants us to go. What if I haven’t made myself numb to the desires of my heart but I just can’t distinguish what my desires actually are?

Did I come all the way out to California to chase this great desire that I have. I believe it is a yes. What is my desire? Why did I come out here? I have no idea! However I do know that if I give it up to Him just as this Psalmist describes, I have no doubt that the Lord will guide me in the direction in which He wants me to go. So I’ll just keep wandering about through the wilderness alongside His creation till He makes a clear path for me.

About NMStock

I am a child of the Creator of this stunning, intricate universe
This entry was posted in Direction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He led them by a straight way…

  1. Tommy Suiter says:

    well that is certainly some crazy stuff

Leave a Reply

