The Deciduous Tree

The deciduous tree loses its leaves every fall, but I’m not sure that’s the most accurate statement. I’m not so sure the tree loses its leaves but rather it lets them go. Think about it, to lose something you have to misplace it. This implies that you intended to put it in a particular place, you expected it to be there but it wasn’t there. You either misplaced it or someone else stole it. Either way it is quite obvious that a tree does not have a brain to think therefore could not expect its leaves to be in any particular spot let alone be looking for them once they’ve become lost.

I know this might be thinking about it a little too much but just stay with me, because the Father totally did something awesome through this picture He gave me.

I was sitting on a hammock starting at a tree with very few leaves attached to its branches.  A thought randomly popped into my head and I totally felt that it was from the Lord. It was/He said that I am like this tree. At first my mind starts going… what?!?! How does that make any sense? Maybe it means this… or that?? Then I stopped and said okay Abba, what are you trying to say? He reminded me of how deciduous trees let go of their leaves every fall, brave it through the winter, suck up all the sun and rain, and flourish in the heat of summer. They change. He said that’s like me, I change and sometimes it’s not season by season but more like minute by minute (I tend to have pretty wild, wacky, random emotions). It’s okay that trees are this way because this is their nature, it was how they were created to function. In each season they function differently and each season has a purpose.

This was SO encouraging because I’ve always been discontent with the fact that I change so much all the time… my interests changee!! I begin pursuing a hobby, then some time later I let it go just like the deciduous tree lets its leaves go at the beginning of fall. Sometimes these interests are completely and other times they’re old interests re-sparked. Either way I thought this was bad. It keeps me from being able to focus and go in one direction; but maybe I was created to function differently than most people. Maybe I was created to go in many directions at once. Maybe I should stop putting God in a box, foolishly thinking that He can only use me if I’m pursuing and trying to master one particular thing. I know I need focus, it’s true. God is a God of clarity and order. I do have to be careful to not let these many passions/interests cause confusion and distraction. I’m not sure where the “perfect middle” lies but I’ll figure it out. The Lord has just revealed this to me and I don’t doubt He will bring His never failing help, guidance, and clarity.

“I lift up my eyes to the hills- where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth. He will NOT LET your foot slip- he who watches over you will not slumber…” Psalm 121:1-3

About NMStock

I am a child of the Creator of this stunning, intricate universe
This entry was posted in Change and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

