Who is Saved?

“… if you confess with your mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord,’ and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is wih your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved.” Romans 10:9,10

Context: Paul was previously talking about the Israelites and how they are going about it all wrong. His heart is for them to be saved but they are trying to establish their own righteousness without realizing that obedience leads to righteousness which comes through faith in Jesus Christ. All we can do to obtain righteousness is to follow Abraham’s example (see Romans 4) by obeying the Lord’s commandments, putting our faith in Jesus Christ alone, and then God will graciously bestow righteousness upon us.

I am using e-Sword as my source to find the original meanings of the original text. E-Sword uses Strong’s Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries. It is available for free to download online. Just click here and it’ll take you to the e-Sword site. It is an amazing resource! I use it all the time. Do you have other resources that you use and prefer over e-Sword? I’m on a budget so I can only go for the free programs but please inform me about what you use!

So I’m going to take apart this Romans 10 verse. “if you confess with your mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord…” what does confess actually mean? The original Greek word for this is homologeō (hom-ol-og-eh’-o). The definition from Strong’s Greek Dictionary is “to assent, that is, covenant, acknowledge: – con- *(pro-) fess*, confession is made, give thanks, promise.” This verse can be paraphrased like so, “if you make a covenant with God in which you *profess* that Jesus is Lord…” it’s not something you just say. Anyone can simply say the words “Jesus is Lord” and not really mean it. No, it’s a covenant you’re making with God saying “this is who Jesus is, I thank you for opening my eyes and bestowing your grace upon me, and I promise to do my best to make my life reflect Him.”

Next part- “and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead.” The Greek word for believe is pisteuō (pist-yoo’-o). It’s definition is “to have faith (in, upon, or with respect to, a person or thing), that is, credit; by implication to entrust (especially one’s spiritual well being to Christ): – believe (-r), commit (to trust), put in trust with.” Wow, so it’s not just a simple word. I know when I use believe I usually mean think. “I believe that I’m going to make it to the movies.” Or it means something that I think is true. “I believe what my friends say.” But in Romans 10 the meaning is SO much deeper and MUCH more of an interactive term. This portion of the verse can be paraphrased- “and if you have faith that God raised him from the dead, put your trust in this truth and entrust yourself to Him, and commit the rest of your life to Him…”

So put the two of these statements to complete verse 9. “… “if you make a covenant with God in which you profess that ‘Jesus is Lord,’ if you thank and promise you’ll dedicate your life to Jesus, if you have faith that God raised Him from the dead, if you put your trust in this truth, if you entrust yourself to Him, and if commit the rest of your life to Him, you will be saved.”

Now, it may seem like I’m adding to scripture and I would like to make sure that no one is thinking this. Well first, be aware that you will find many people who try to add to scripture but the reality is that no one can add to or take from holy scripture. So when you’re reading anything besides scripture, first pray for divine discernment. I broke down each word used in this scripture (as precisely shown above) by going back to the Greek definition of each word. Don’t take my paraphrase as holy… take it just as it is- a paraphrased verse that hopefully helps you and me to greater understand the meaning of this verse.

“… if you confess with your mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord,’ and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is wih your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved.” Romans 10:9,10

I would encourage you to take this research further and dig deeper. Let me know what you find! Inside the depths of scripture there is always more and more to discover. We’ll never get to the bottom of any of it, but it is sure fun, interesting, and amazing to start swimming down towards the bottom of the depths.

The reality is that we will never know what is actually in someone’s heart. The very person that is “the best ‘Christian’ I have ever seen” may not even be saved. Who knows… who has to know. None of us that’s for sure. Let’s just leave the judging up to God. However it is nice to know how a heart can be saved and I’m thankful that more and more of studying the Word reveals more and more about salvation and how to get it. It’s for all of us.

About NMStock

I am a child of the Creator of this stunning, intricate universe
This entry was posted in The Word, This thing... called Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

