Sleepless Nights

Tiredd I tell you… I’m sleepyyyy!

I hate it when all I want to do is sleep but I can’t. I close my eyes for hours on end, tossing and turning, not being able to get anything but some brief shut eye. It’s really frustrating but recently I started wondering if there’s a better use of this time? Why can’t I sleep? Who knows. What do I currently do when I can’t sleep? Have a minor break down/freak out. Cry. Repeat over and over again how annoying it is that my mind doesn’t want to rest but my body does. What could I do instead of having a pity party? Pray. Pray. Pray. Blog a bit to get some of the frustration to get off my mind. Read the Word. Pray some more.

Isn’t it interesting that this sleepless night is occurring right when my fasts switch? Yesterday was the last day of my blog/FB fast and right now (12:00 Wednesday) begins my fruit fast. Maybe it’s more than just not being able to sleep. So I’m in some sort of transition mode…. maybe the Lord is giving me extra energy and a busy mind for a reason. I don’t have the slightest clue as to what it might be, I’m just saying. I might as well make the most of this time right now. I don’t necessarily have to be productive but I’m sure it’s a much better use of my time to pray and hang out with my Papa than whine about how I’m really tired and just can’t sleep.

So I guess I’m just gonna open the Word. I really believe that there’s no reason to complain for extra time to get to know my God better. I’m excited for what’s going to happen in the midnight hour.

“About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the other prisoners were listening to them. Suddenly there was such a violent earthquake that the foundations of the prison were shaken. At once all the prison doors flew open, and everybody’s chains came loose.” Acts 16:25, 26

There’s something special about the midnight hour. The Bible has a decent amount to say about “midnight” so I have to think that there’s something special about giving up sleep or struggling to sleep. There’s something powerful about the midnight prayer that has the ability to shatter walls and break chains.

About NMStock

I am a child of the Creator of this stunning, intricate universe
This entry was posted in This thing... called Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

