Raw Dependence

“… raw dependence is the raw material out of which God performs His greatest miracles.” Mark Batterson The Circle Maker

I’ve come to realize that I can’t do very much on my own. Success has many definitions, but to most it would seem contradictory for me to call myself successful while also admitting I strive towards dependency. For most people today success normally has something to do with what kind of education they can get, which leads to what kind of job they can nail, and  it ultimately comes down to how much money they can make. The craziest part is that it’s all on YOU! We have shunned the idea of dependency and worshiped independence. If that’s what success is then I want nothing to do with it. I don’t want to look back on my life worrying that maybe I didn’t make enough money to validate my existence. Success is much more than a thriving career and bank account.

True success is best explained by the quote above. It’s not about how much you are able to do, it’s about how much you allow God to do through you. He has the ability to take a life and transform it. He has the ability to take someone who looks quite unsuccessful in the world’s eyes and use that person for His glory. You and I may not notice the woman walking down the street with three kids at her side, but she IS successful. We may not notice the man in the wheel chair, but his encouragement skills are extraordinary and he is successful at transforming lives every day with one single sentence.

Most of us want to do something with our lives, but allowing God to shape that vision and to allow His validation to sink in to our hearts is essential. I may want to go to law school and become the best lawyer anyone has every seen, but maybe His plan is just for me to raise a few kids and make a difference in their world. Or maybe that is what He has for me, but to get through all of that school and deal with difficult people all day long will only be enjoyable and fulfilling if He is there keeping me sane through it all.

It’s time to let go. I’m not condoning laziness. Make plans and set goals, but at the end of the day listen to His voice that will guide you in the right direction. Allow “raw dependence” to take over. Strive to become one with Him and He will shape your visions and dreams. The best moments in our lives are those when everything seems to be falling apart and He is there to pick up all the pieces. Your level of success will shoot through the roof if you depend on Him and allow the Spirit to guide you through this crazy life.

I have no idea at all what I want to do with my life. There’s so many options (I’m extremely indecisive) and so many different routes I could take. Which one is best? Which one will be covered with His blessing? It’s time for me to let go and stop worrying about it. It’s time to take a step back and allow Him to help me narrow that list down so I’ll have a clear direction to go follow. Jesus didn’t go into ministry until he was in his 30’s so as far as I’m concerned, I have time… praying for direction, clarity, and inspiration over these next few years!

Have any of you experienced this state of “limbo” and witnessed the Spirit guide you out of it?

About NMStock

I am a child of the Creator of this stunning, intricate universe
This entry was posted in Direction, Jobs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raw Dependence

  1. dibark2012 says:

    In answer to your question, “Have any of you experienced this state of “limbo” and witnessed the Spirit guide you out of it?” For me, the answer is absolutely. Many times in my life, I wasn’t always clear the direction that I was supposed to take. You’re certainly not alone in feeling that way. I think many people struggle with the same feelings and it’s quite normal.

    I do believe there are many paths that we can take in life, but to me the key is are we using the gifts that God gave us and are we taking a leap of faith and venturing out to see how God wants to use us? Sometimes our gifts aren’t clear to us – maybe others know our gifts, but it might not be apparent to us. I might say, you’re an amazing writer and artist. But you may think oh well that’s my mom saying that, so it doesn’t mean much, and I get that. You’ll come to a point where you figure out what your gifts are and that could happen over night or it could take years for you to realize your strengths and what you’re passionate about. But don’t let that stop you. Part of figuring this out is trying new things – putting yourself out there to figure out what you like and what you don’t like.

    For me, I learned the importance of putting a stake in the ground and running with it because when I didn’t take that approach, I tended to procrastinate in moving forward in areas in my life that were awkward or uncomfortable. It was only by stepping outside of my comfort zone and trying new things (whether it was school, different jobs, or even in how I approached raising my family) was I able to grow and develop my skills and realize my gifts. Now that I look back, I can see how God has used me and is continuing to shape me and use me, but he knows that I’m a work in progress and I’ll never stop growing.

    For years I was in a job that did not suit me, and I always questioned my purpose in life and really didn’t understand my gifts. Today, I can see how working in these various jobs has led me to where I am today. Each job that I had, role that I took on, or with the zillion credits that I have because I couldn’t make up my mind with what type of degree I wanted to earn, has shaped me. These experiences have helped me grow and to find out my strengths and areas for development.

    I can truly see how God is using my gifts. I know you, Mariel, and Robert say you could never work at a desk or work from home all the time like I do, but I feel so blessed to be able to support the warfighter with my buying items that are needed to support their efforts. For the first time in my life, I absolutely love my job and finally realize my purpose. God has put me in a situation where I’m able to train other people and help them along their journey. I can also be a shining light at the office, which can be a very negative environment and very grim for some people.

    Life is a journey. There are so many things that we can do with our lives and it can make it very confusing to make decisions. I don’t think making a decision to try something new is a bad decision. The decision will teach you something. I believe, the more decisions you make, the more you step outside of your comfort zone, and the more you trust that God will use any of these situations for his glory, you really can’t go wrong. I think clarity may come as you’re trying these new things, growing, experiencing life to its fullest potential. The trick is to decide and then just do it.

    I love you.

    • dibart89 says:

      Thanks for that encouraging word! Many concepts rang true for me. I hear what you’re saying and I think what I need to do is, as you put it, “put a stake in the ground” and run with something. Hope this encourages more people who are as indecisive as I am : )

Leave a Reply

